Excellent post on the state of affairs in North Korea and the inherent value (or lack thereof) in the availability of the Internet. Very well written and thought provoking.

The Geek Whisperer

I’m a bit phobic of of dictators & dictatorships. Near as I can tell, there is no dedicated word for it like geniophobia, “the fear of chins” (no joke). I love to travel and what to see as much of the world as possible, but I run the other direction when dictators are in charge. I’m just not that adventurous.

Google North of the Demilitarized Zone

This brings me to Google Chairman, Eric Schmidt’s recent trip to sunny North Korea, the land of forced labor camps, starvation, near-absolute isolation from the outside world, and apparently unicorns.

Schmidt’s goal seemed to be encouraging the North Korean government to open up Internet access for its people. After his trip he stated:

“We made that alternative very, very clear. Once the internet starts in any country, citizens in that country can certainly build on top of it, but the government…

View original post 632 more words