Inspiration… I Have None.

CG depiction of Gollum created by Weta Digital...

GET OUT OF MY HEAD.

I’m up against a wall here, people. I’m cornered and they’re closing in fast. My predicament is this: I’m starting to wonder what exactly it is I have to say.

I’m stumped. I’ve beaten my head against what I can only assume is some bizarre wall made of writer’s block for a few days now. How do some of you seasoned pros handle this? You know, that feeling like anything you write will be stupid, pointless, and/or other derogatory adjectives? That gnawing thing in your head that convinces you everything you’re thinking about writing is a waste of time… and sounds suspiciously like Gollum?

That’s what I feel like I’m up against. How do you more experienced bloggers fight back against that feeling? What is it that keeps you going?

3 thoughts on “Inspiration… I Have None.

  1. Sucks man, but I’ve been there.

    I usually read more, and blog about stuff other people have posted for a day or two. Then I force myself to write something of my own. It usually isn’t my best work, but it breaks me out of the rut.

    It’s been my experience that writers block is unintentionally self-imposed, and the best way to just write.

    I also try not to call it writers block, because as soon as I give the problem a name, it gets worse.

    Good luck.

  2. Thanks for the words of advice… I’m making a concerted effort to seek out new things to read and respond to, and I’m sure that I’ll come across something that sparks that “I have to write this down RIGHT NOW” feeling again!

  3. We have all experienced blocks in one way or another. There is no easy answer to it, because the whole things is rooted so deep in one’s mind. You will have to understand that it’s resistance within yourself that causes writer’s block. And when you say that you feel that whatever you write feels stupid and pointless, that is exactly your mind playing tricks with you and resisting to have to be creative. One way to deal with is to set a specific time when you sit down and write – no matter what. Any thoughts about lack of creativity you just overlook. Write and write, no matter how stupid it seems. And no matter how trivial it might be. Write without thinking. At some point things start to move for you. If you want to understand what’s going on a little better, I would recommend the book The War of Art by Steven Pressfield

Leave a Reply

