“I think there’s more to this hobbit than meets the eye.”

The Eye of Sauron

My Eyes After the Marathon

So.

Lord of the Rings.

Maybe you’ve heard of it.

This weekend, the wife and I are going to attempt a feat that I’ve wanted to try for ages now… we’re going to watch all three extended editions in one sitting. I ordered the Blu-ray set, and I figured that its arrival today coupled with the long weekend we’re about to enter must clearly be a sign that we are meant to do it now.

My only concern is the attitude of Small Boy during this endeavor.

It’s much different to think of doing this now that we have a baby, as it’s possible that the baby is actually the one practicing ownership here; his mother and I are often reduced to willing servants, hanging on every grin and coo that the master sees fit to bestow upon us. Nevertheless, this must be done. This is one of the great trilogies of our time, and I intend to watch it in its entirety. I often wondered if I could pull off the same stunt with The Matrix movies, but the sense of dread I felt when I considered watching Reloaded again was enough to deter me.

So that’s the plan. Tomorrow morning, wake up to coffee that I’ll program in advance, grab some breakfast, and start it up. I have no idea if we’ll be successful, but 90% of the fun is just in the attempt, right? I’ll be sure to document the goings-on and deliver a full report once we’re finished!

One thought on ““I think there’s more to this hobbit than meets the eye.”

  1. Pingback: Lord of Watching Lord of the Rings « rtikthirteen

Leave a Reply

