A Week Without Warcraft

Hand I'm bored

Image via Wikipedia

It’s been a week now since I canceled my World of Warcraft account after almost 6 years of playing.

It’s been kind of a strange week.

I canceled my subscription because I realized that the game had become a crutch more than anything else. I didn’t enjoy playing anymore, it was just what I did. It was what there was to do when there was nothing else to do. I didn’t look forward to logging in, and I didn’t have much in mind to do when I did. The last expansion was fumbled horribly, and it lost the main component that one should look for in a video game, which is to say shit wasn’t fun. I simply haven’t been having a good experience with it lately. After leveling 5 characters to 85, I had seen all I wanted to of this brave new world, and trudged through the 80-85 content 4 more times than it deserved. The old world, the place that I kept coming back to because of the familiarity and memories, is gone. Guilds have gone into two camps: raiders and idiots. Not having the time or desire to raid and also not being an idiot, that leaves me with the “lone wolf” option, which, in a genre that explicitly states that it is massively multiplayer, doesn’t feel quite right.

Maybe I’ll be back next expansion.

One thought on “A Week Without Warcraft

  1. Pingback: How I Spent My Summer Vacation (Round 1) « rtikthirteen

Leave a Reply

